EWS Certificate Application: How to apply for EWS Certificate 2021

What is EWS Certificate?

EWS is a new reservation sub-category under the General category. It is a kind of reservation scheme that came into effect in the year 2019. The EWS bill was approved by the President of India on 12th January 2019. On 14th January 2019, Gujarat became the first state to enact this law.

To claim the benefit of 10% EWS reservation in any govt. job or admission in higher education, candidates have to essentially produce the valid EWS certificate issued by the competent authority. 

EWS reservation scheme has been introduced to provide 10% reservation in direct recruitment in civil posts & services in the Govt. of India to persons who belong to the EWS category and are not covered under any other reservation scheme such as SC, ST and OBC category. Basically, EWS certificate is an income and asset certificate issued to the citizens belonging to the economically weaker sections of the society (EWS category under General category).

EWS Certificate Application

The application form can be accessed online and offline from various designated sources. If you are also eligible for EWS certificate and wish to apply for it, you must know all the crucial points related to the issue of EWS certificate. You can collect all the relevant information from this post. Here we have shared details such as application form, eligibility requirements, validity, important document, etc.       

CertificateEWS Certificate  
Article categoryApplication
Enacted byGovernment of India
Name of LawEconomic Weaker Section Bill  
Issued toEconomical Weaker Section (EWS)   
Reservation benefit10%
Mode of applicationOnline/offline
Validity of certificate1 year

Eligibility Criteria for EWS Certificate

To avail of the benefits of the EWS reservation category, check the eligibility criteria mentioned below to apply for the EWS Certificate-

General Category :

The candidate must belong General category. He shall not bear any caste certificate under his name.

EWS reservation is only for the General category candidates.

Family Income :

The annual family income of the candidate must be less than Rs. 8 Lakhs per annum.

By Family income, it means that it would include all the income sources of the family such as agriculture, private job, business, salary etc.

Agricultural Land :

The candidate or his family shall not own agricultural land of area 5 acres or more.

If the candidate or his family own any agricultural land, it must be under the area of 5 acres to avail of EWS reservation benefits.

If the candidate fails to meet this criterion, he shall not be considered eligible for the reservation benefits.

Residential Property :

If a candidate or his family owns a residential flat, it must be under the area of 100 sq. feet.

Residential Plot

  • The Residential Plot owned by the candidate or his family must be below the area of 100 sq. yards in a notified municipality sector.
  • The Residential Plot owned by the candidate or his family must be below the area of 200 sq. yards in a non-notified municipality sector.

The candidate must satisfy all the above-mentioned criteria to apply for the EWS Reservation Certificate and avail of its benefits to keep exploring the opportunities in government jobs and educational institutes.

Definition of Family

In all the eligibility criteria mentioned above, it includes the term “FAMILY”. The term Family will only include the following family members of the candidate:-

  • Candidate
  • Candidate’s Parents
  • Candidate’s Siblings below the age of 18 years
  • Candidate’s Spouse
  • Candidate’s Children below the age of 18 years

Check who are covered under EWS category and are eligible to apply for EWS certificate given below-  

  • Persons who are not covered under the reservation scheme for SC, ST and OBC category and the gross income of their family is less than 8 Lakh per annum. (Here family income includes earning from all sources such as agriculture, salary, profession, business etc.)   
  • Persons whose families have possession of following assets (irrespective of family income) will be not categorized under EWS category-
    • 5 acres of agricultural land & above,
    • Residential plot of 100 square yards & above in notified municipalities,
    • The residential area of 1000 square feet & above,
    • Residential plot of 200 square yards & above in areas other than the specified municipalities.  

How to fill EWS Certificate Application Form?

The application for the issue of an EWS certificate can be submitted online or offline. It totally depends upon the state government. For online application, you have to visit the official website of the issuing authority and select the relevant link and proceed further as per the provided instructions. States like Andhra Pradesh provide an online facility through which citizens can easily submit application

In case of offline applications, persons have to collect the application form from the issuing authorities. They can also download the application format from the official websites. The link for application form is also shared below in this section. They have to print the application form and fill all the asked details. They must be careful while filling the information in the form.

The format of EWS certificate provided by the Govt. of India is same for the entire country.   

The information that is required to be filled in EWS application form includes- Name of the state govt., Name of the applicant, name of the father/husband, address, financial year, caste, and attested passport-sized photograph.   

Application form- Download the application form from the given link- Click here

EWS Certificate Form

EWS Certificate Application Fee

Applicants are also required to make a payment of a nominal application fee. The amount of application fee depends on the authority issuing the EWS certificate and also on the State Government.  It simply means application fee will not be uniform in all the states.

EWS Certificate Issuing Authorities

Income and Asset certificate will be issued and verified by the various identified authorities in each state. However, the issuing authorities are different but the format of the application form has been prescribed by the concerned ministry of the Government of India which is same for all the states.  

Have a look at the names of all the authorities given below which has been identified for the issue of the certificate-

  • District Magistrate (DM) /Additional District Magistrate (ADM) / Collector/ Deputy Commissioner/ Additional Deputy Commissioner/ 1st Class Stipendary/ Magistrate/ Sub-Divisional Magistrate / Executive Magistrate/ Taluka Magistrate/ Extra Assistant Commissioner
  • Chief Presidency Magistrate/Additional Chief Presidency Magistrate/ Presidency Magistrate
  • Revenue Officer not below the rank of Tehsildar
  • Sub-Divisional Officer or the area where the applicant or his family normally resides.

EWS Certificate Document Required    

Applicants are required to enclose all the necessary documents with the application form. They must have following documents and details along with them at the time of filling the application form-  

  • Aadhaar Card   
  • Id Proof  
  • Affidavit/Self Declaration
  • Land/property documents
  • Residential proof/Domicile Certificate    
  • Passport-sized photograph    
  • Other relevant documents        

The aforementioned list of documents varies state to state as per their rules. Applicants are therefore advised to visit the EWS certificate issuing authority and collect all the important information.

Categories EWS

Leave a Comment